WARNING SCAM ALERT! XMiner.io and others!

Cryptocurrency News and Public Mining Pools

WARNING SCAM ALERT! XMiner.io and others!

I was alerted to this article by Google Alerts https://techbullion.com/how-to-earn-passive-income-with-xminer-cloud-mining/ it is about a supposed company called XMiner https://www.xminer.io/

I fairly quickly realised something was not right just by the look and feel of the website as well as their too good to be true claims that they can pay out up to 150% within 60 days and so I did some digging.

I first noticed grammar on the site was just wrong "how it work" etc.

Their address if you google it "217 Summit Boulevard Birmingham, AL 35243" is actually Trader Joes in a shopping centre.

There is an image on their about page that I reverse image searched which is basically an image titled " diverse young business professionals " that you can buy on getty images or shutter stock.

Their team seem to be real people…people that work for other companies that is. Take Kevin Yuann for example VP Business for NerdWallet… Not XMiner.

They have a bunch of images of other logo's such as this one https://www.xminer.io/static1/picture/cl-logo4.png on their about us page, I assume these are supposed to be affiliated firms or partner companies, maybe subsidiaries. Problem is none of them exist as far as I can tell. Reverse image searching the images and I found similar designed websites all trying similar scams, see below:





The mining hardware pictures are also obvious fakes.

One of their other sites https://www.cryptocoin10x.com/ says you can download their app from the play or apple store yet when you click the link it just takes you to an internal page.

I have not yet figured out what the actual scam is, whether it is phishing or just a blatant snatch and run but be careful and warn others.

I let that tech website company know that they were writing articles about scam websites and to their credit, they may not be the brightest, but they did seem concerned and responded pretty quickly.

EDIT forgot to also say that a whois search on the domain shows it is basically brand new. I used the chat function to ask them a few questions and basically they just responded with nonsense. Probably a bot.

EDIT 2 my security software picked up and alerted me of potential issues when viewing some of the other sites so be careful.

I found the templates they are using and this is likely why they all look similar, very lazy scammers apparently: https://themeforest.net/item/cryptocoin-bitcoin-crypto-currency-wallet-and-mining-template/21229314?ref=softnio

submitted by /u/AftonCoger
[link] [comments]